Harrogate Area 

Rabbit Golf Association


To stimulate, promote and encourage competitive golf for players with a WHS Handicap Index of 15 and higher who are:

To have its own Officers and Council responsible for arranging Rabbit golf competitions, inter-club and inter-area matches, and social functions.  

To operate within the constitution and rules of the Yorkshire Rabbit Golf Association.   

2023 HARGA President's Message

Welcome to HARGA 2023

It is a privilege and honour to be HARGA President for the year 2023. Thanks goes to Oakdale Rabbits committee and Oakdale Golf Club for proposing my nomination and to HARGA and its members for accepting.

Congratulations to Dick Toft for his year as President, a hard act to follow.

As we look forward to the 2023 season, HARGA embarks on some new and exciting events for its member clubs with the Spring and Autumn Invitational’s giving more opportunities for members of Rabbit sections to get involved with HARGA competitions and l would encourage you all to get behind and support this initiative.

I would like to wish you all a successful year ahead both on and off the golf course and look forward to meeting many of you at the forthcoming coming matches and events .

Phil Grant

Oakdale GC

2023 HARGA President

2023 HARGA Officers

Vice President

Geoff Fitchett

Knaresborough GC


Keith Lewis

Thirsk and Northallerton GC

Competition Secretary

Peter Skinner

Knaresborough GC


Ian Jeal

Ripon City GC

Press Officer

Jeff Loveday

Masham GC


HARGA Annual Dinner 

Updated 28/1023

Forty five rabbit golfers, including Presidents from all the other YRGA Areas as guests,  enjoyed an excellent HARGA Annual dinner and awards evening at the Oakdale GC on Friday  October 27th.  Unfortunately the afternoon play-off matches for the HARGA League and the fun golf event had to be cancelled due to the weather and course conditions which means that some matches and awards will likely be delayed into 2024.  Nevertheless everyone was in great spirits for the very tasty three course dinner which included interludes for a challenging quiz and raffle.  The after-dinner toasts and speeches were excellent, the highlight being the Oakdale Vice Captain Jamie Letts who  provided an entertaining and tongue-in-cheek view of life and times of being a Rabbit golfer with the typical "dig" at "senior" golfers.  A huge thanks to the Oakdale Club members and staff and for the outstanding hosting of this event.  

Full house at Oakdale GC for the HARGA Dinner with plenty of banter and competitive quizzing!

President Phil Grant awarding HARGA League Winner and Runner-Up medals to representatives of Oakdale, Masham, Easingwold and Ripon rabbits.

HARGA Invitational Results

Updated 25/9/23

We had a great day yesterday at Pike Hills GC for the HARGA Autumn Invitational with 88 Rabbits compting in the Autumn HARGA Invitational event.  The course was in great condition with fast greens despite the recent rain.  We enjoyed great hospitality from the Pike Hills club and some were able to enjoy viewing of the European Ladies victory in the Solheim Cup.

Congratulations to Rudding Park who were runaway winners on the day and in the overall event with a great total of 251 points.  The the follow-up placings were very closely contested.  See table below for a full set of results including top pairs and nearest the pin winners.

A big thanks to Nigel Jones and Phil Grant for their time in hosting the event and to Pike Hills GC.  

President Phil Grant with top Scoring pair David Spenley & Kenny Ross of Dudding Park (47 points)

Rudding Park Rabbits Captain Andy Robinson with the Invitational Trophy and some of the team

2023 HARGA Invitationals - Results

HARGA Autumn Quarterly Meeting & HARGA League Results

updated 22/9/23

We had a excellent Autumn Quarterly meeting at Thirsk & Northallerton Golf Club on Thursday September 21st.  After days of rain we had a bright sunny afternoon for the President's Prize Competition which was won by Derek Reveley with a excellent round, considering the very soft conditions, of 38 points.  Derek also won the closest to the pin contest on Hole 18.  The competition was followed by an excellent meal and then the meeting.  The highlight of the meeting was President Phil Grant awarding the Kershaw Trophy to the winners of the 2022 HARGA League - Rudding Park Rabbits.  Past President Dick Toft presented the now engraved Immediate Past Presidents Trophy to Heworth Rabbits. Competition Secretary Jeff Loveday presented the results of the 2023 Harga League - see table below.  The play-offs for this event will take place at Oakdale GC ahead of the HARGA Annual Dinner on October 27, 2023.

2023 HARGA League Results 8th Sept.2023

Derek Reveley receiving the 2023 Presidents Prize

Andy Robinson receiving the 2022 Kershaw Cup Tophy on behalf of Rudding Park Rabbits Section

Kevin Dwyer receiving the 2023 IPP Tophy on behalf of Heworth Rabbits Section from Dick Toft

 HARGA Member Clubs

Click on Club Name to link to the Golf Club's Website (Rabbit's Section, if available)

The HARGA Council consists of:  Elected Officers (President, Vice President,  Secretary,  Treasurer, Competitions Secretary, Press Officer); YRGA Representative; HARGA Club Rabbit Captains &  HARGA Club Rabbit Secretaries (or nominee) and the active past HARGA Presidents. HARGA Club Rabbit Vice Captains are invited to join meetings in a non-voting capacity.

The restricted workspace includes the online version of the 2023 Directory, an online calendar of events, meetings and fixtures, recent meeting agendas and minutes, index of past meeting minutes and the latest version of the HARGA Constitution .

 YRGA Links

 Other Useful Links